Each year at the Synagogue Annual General Meeting (usually held in November), the members present elect a Council of up to 15 members who take responsibility for a variety of roles on behalf of the membership. When there are fewer than 15 candidates there is no election.

The Council then elects its officers, being Chair, Honorary Secretary, Honorary Treasurer and Senior Warden. Any member of the community is welcome to attend council to observe. Council meetings are advertised in the synagogue magazine, ‘Kehillah.’


Other council members and officers are:

  • Ruth Bragman – Co Chairman
  • Paul Erdunast-Hon Secreary
  • Josie Knox – Senior Warden
  • Edward Leek– Hon Treasurer-
  • Hilary Leek-Vice President -Care Group
  • Camilla Mcgill – Membership Commitee
  • Julian Hunt-Cheder
  • Wendy Levy-SEG
  • Tony Salem-vice President-Office
  • Graham lust- House

Representatives on the Board of Deputies

  • Martin Raven
  • Lawrence Jacobson

We have 1 Vice President, Hilary Leek who attends Council and the Executive.

The Council is formed into or liaises with working groups as follows:

CommitteeChairMeeting frequencyRole of committee
Care GroupHilary LeekQuarterlyThe Care Group will decide who in the community may need extra support and agree and deliver this.

Cultural  Education

Julian Hunt

Michael Kelion

One per termEducation includes Cheder, youth education. adult education, and education of the wider community (which includes school visits).
Synagogue EventsRuth Bragman6 weeklyTo organise programmes and events for all members of the community of an entertaining and interesting nature and to ensure there are funds raised for the benefit of the Synagogue and occasionally any other specifically-named charity.
Finance-Tony Salem


Twice per yearTo review Synagogue Finances,

and the budget prepared by the Treasurer and recommend subscription levels.

IsraelJudy Weleminsky3 times per yearTo raise the profile of and engagement with Israel throughout all the activities,

communications and presentation of the synagogue community.

Members’ groupCamilla McGill3 times per yearTo hear the voices of the membership and of prospective members
Planning for JudaismStella Mason

Senior Warden

1-2 monthlyThe lead body that looks after the ritual affairs of the Synagogue

Additional responsibilities

The Synagogue office supports the Council and committees with responsibilities which include new members, social functions, youth, pastoral care and member communications.  The office has a direct relationship with the marketing of the synagogue which includes lettings, PR, website, research and fundraising.  Contact for communications, Ruth Bragman for Synagogue Events and Camilla McGill  for membership.

Responsibility for Operations and Infrastructure which includes premises, the Synagogue building infrastructure, hospitality and security is taken by members of Council .

Most of the working groups are led by a Council member, but can (and ideally should) involve community members who are both Council and non-Council members. Anyone can take on a portfolio within the working group, take on part responsibility, or an interim role.

The working groups are, of course, subordinate to the elected Council. Council members may be involved in many of the working groups and do not have to lead any of them, but each Council member will be a member of at least one working group unless they have the express agreement of the Council not to be an active working group participant or they have a role/responsibility that falls outside of these working groups (e.g. Council Chairman).

The working groups produce reports to Council that minute each of their meetings whenever they take place and capture the progress on actions and activities.

Copies of all Council meeting minutes (once signed off by Council) and the reports of the working groups are available on application to the Synagogue office.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.